The college is situated in a culturally rich locale, and it is the only college in the vast area of Bhagwanpur-II block. It was founded with the help of the donations collected from the local people with the aim to serve the poor inhabitants of the area who were unable to send their wards to distant places for higher education. It is noteworthy that some eminent people, enthusiasts in education and social work, took the initiative in establishing this college. Notable among them are Shri Jyotirmay Nanda, Shri Hrishikesh Gayen, Shri Rammay Nanda,   Shri Biswanath Sarangi, Shri Tarapada Maity, Shri Sudhir Kumar Hazra, Shri Rakhal Chandra Sarangi, Shri Nanda Gopal Maity, Shri Bankim Chandra Hazra, Shri Ajit Kumar Paria, Shri Jogesh Chandra Nanda, Shri Jagattaran Tripathy, Shri Sachikanta Nanda, Shri Satish Chandra Manna, Shri Swadesh Gayen, Shri Surendranath Jana, Shri Sitanath Das, Shri Gunadhar Maity and Shri Baneswar Maity. The authorities were mainly dependent on the charity of the people for buying the required land and construction of buildings.The college greatly owes to Mugberia Gangadhar Trust for a donation of Rs. 15,345/-, and to late Shri Sailajacharan Nanda for giving away a house along with land where a suitable hostel has been constructed recently.


Establishment: Mugberia Gangadhar Mahavidyalaya was established on 2nd July, 1964.

Recognition: Mugberia Gangadhar Mahavidyalaya is included in the 2f & 12 B List by the University Grants Commission (UGC).

Affiliation: Although the College was initially affiliated to University of Calcutta, in 1985 it got affiliated to Vidyasagar University, Midnapur.

Annual Report on E-Governance (General) 2018-23View File